top of page

Tent Dress from the book - "Sewing Your Perfect Capsule Wardrobe"

In this post, I will talk about how I used this gifted fabric to make this gorgeous dress #thehemlineeclectic #kaliedoscopestudio #Sewingyourperfectcapsulewardrobe


The Fabric


In my last post I talked about the amazing new collection - Panorama by Kaleidoscope Studio. This is another amazing. fabric from that collection that I chose to work with.


This is a tencel fabric which is one for my most favorite with this beautiful snow capped mountain these called Elevated.


The fabric is so beautiful with work with. It has such a lovely drape and the print is gorgeous.


I treated this fabric like I would any tencel. I sewed the cut end together and washed the fabric and ironed the fabric in a low heat setting using the press and lift method.


You want to be careful when you set this fabric on your cutting table. It is more slippery than other fabrics like cotton.


The Pattern


When I was thinking about the perfect pattern to show off this amazing fabric, the print and the drape, I was going back and forth between different options. I knew I wanted to do a dress!


I finally settled on the Tent Dress. This is one of the patterns in the book "Sewing your perfect Capsule Wardrobe" by Arianna Cadwallader and Cathy Mckinnon.


I talk a lot about how I learnt different techniques using this book in my earlier[ posts - here and here.


I learnt how to alter the pattern of a shift dress to make a this gorgeous tent dress by very carefully going through the instructions in the book.


Looking through the size charts and the fit that I like, size 3 fits me very well for almost all patterns in this book.


I cut out the size 3. I added in seam pockets to the dress, because I just never want to have a dress without pockets anymore 😁. for the pockets, I took the pattern piece from the Orchards dress pattern.


The dress sewed up pretty easily. The neckline and armholes are fully enclosed in a facing to give it a nice clean finish.


I french seamed the whole garment to give it that extra love.


Techniques you will learn



If you choose to make this pattern, you will learn to


1. Sew a fully enclosed facing using the burrito method.

2. Sew french seams (if you do as I did)

3. Sew In seam pockets ( if you do as I did).


Get Inspired


I absolutely love how this pattern and fabric goes together. I highly encourage you to try out this book and also try out this collection. You can buy it online in Sewing Studio. I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you!




WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page