top of page

Highlands Wrap Dress By Allie Olsen - In Collaboration with Art Gallery Fabrics

The Fabric


As part of my collaboration with Art Gallery Fabrics, I was gifted this gorgeous Rayon Challis called Firefly Nightfall designed by Amy Sinibaldi for their Velvet collection.


This fabric is so soft and has an gorgeous drape, it is made for dresses. The colour is vibrant and saturated. The design is one of the favorites.


The fabric sews up beautifully. I did sew up the edges before washing them and used.75/11 needed to sew it up with. it all worked out very well. :)



The Pattern


This is the highlands wrap dress by Allie Olsen. You ca purchase the pattern here.


I have had this pattern in my stash for a long time. For some reason I had lost to motivation to make this dress. Maybe I didnt have the right fabric that inspired me, or maybe I was just distracted by some other patterns!!


When I received this fabric from AGF, I loved it so much, I was afraid to cut into it without the perfect pattern in mind. When I finally thought of making this wrap dress, I knew it was going to be gorgeous.


I chose to cut. out a size 4 keeping my bust size in mind.


The patter is designed for someone 5' 6" i height. I therefore shortened the length of the pattern by 3".



I retrospect, I wish I had distributed the shortening of the pattern by makig the bodice short by 0.5-1inch and the rest in the skirt. As you can see i the picture above, there is a little extra fabric o the back and front that I would like. Next time!


This pattern has a lot of bells ad whistles than a normal wrap dress which gives it the fitted look. There is an elastic at the back which provides shaping. There are slits on either sides making it very comfortable to walk and sit down. The front wrao is created with buttons on one side instead of the full wrap around.


All this adds to the skills needed to make this dress. I loved making it and would deftly make another one using the other views.


This pattern would work i so may different kinds of fabric. I love it in this Rayon but, I can also see it be gorgeous in a cotton, linen, chambray. It would also look great in a lightweight denim too! Options are endless! :)



Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this dress, you will


1. Learn to sew a wrap dress

2. Learn to make an elastic casing

3. Learn to sew buttons


Get Inspired


This fabric is one of my favorite! Here are more pictures to inspire you to sew with it.







WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page