top of page

I am Helios by I Am Patterns

When I Am Patterns reached out to me asking if I would sew up their upcoming collection, I was thrilled! True to their designs, this one did not disappoint!


This is the Helios collection. This collection is a top, pants, shorts and skirt which can be made as separates of as a one piece garment. The variations available on this collection is vast!


For my first go, I wanted to make these awesome breezy pants.


These pants are made up of panels with wrap in the front giving this gorgeous slit. It has a comfortable elastic waist and a drawstring for added comfort.




I chose to make this pattern in a simple black rayon fabric I sourced locally. This could be such a great pattern to lounge at home or wear it out depending on the fabric and how you style it.


The size runs from a

1. 33 inch to a 47 1/4 inch hip measurements.

2. 30 3/4 to a 44 7/8 inch bust measurement


The pattern is drafted for someone who is 5'5" and a B cup.




To make these pants to chose to cut out a straight size 38. I reduced the length of the pants by 2" to fit my height. I took 1/2 inch off the rise and another 1 1/2 inch off the length.


Although the rise fits me perfectly, I find the height a tad bit short in length. Next time I would only shorten the rise.



The instructions are great and the pants come together beautifully. It is a very different way to construct wrap pants and I loved it.


One of the recommendation is to overlock all the seams. My only caution is to use same colour thread as the fabric to overlock. Because the overlocking is seen when the pant moves. My recommendation would be to alternatively fold the edges and sew it in. It might take slightly longer but is certianly a better finish.


I love my new pants! Keep a watch here for the top and possibly other variations!






WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page