top of page

I am Aura by I Am Patterns

In this post I chat about how I sewed up the gorgeous dress #iampatterns #iamaura #thehemlineeclectic



Here is another I AM Patterns's sewing pattern which was recently released called AURA.


This simple yet flattering pattern has 3 views, a dress with a high low hem, a swing dress and a tank top.


I chose to make View A, a dress with a high low hem.


When I first received this pattern from I was sure that I was going to make the simple tank top which will certainly get a lot of use. The high low hem dress is not really my style but I found this amazing fabric with this gorgeous drape and the pattern which would make the bottom circle skirt stand out.



I found this deadstock fabric in India which I think is a blend of linen and viscose (I don't know for sure). It has gorgeous drape and a lovley weight that it begged to be made into a skirt.


The sizing on this pattern are as follows


Bust - 30-44"

Hips - 33-47" hips


The Pattern runs pretty big and long. I shortened the dress so that the low hem was below my knee and the high hem was above my knee. I love how it turned out! I chose to cut out the smallest size.




The pattern is a very quick sew. The bodice is fully enclosed with a lining. The whole dress was cut and sewn within 4 hours.


You can easily add in seam pockets to this dress to add more utility. I love all my dresses to have pockets.


If you have an amazing fabric to show off, this is the pattern for you. I can see this pattern working well with both drapey and structured fabrics. And you can never go wrong with a well sewn tank top.


I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you to sew this dress.





WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page