top of page

Ogden Cami by True Bias

In this post, I will walk you through how I sewed up my Ogden Cami. #thehemlineeclectic #ogdencami #truebias

The Pattern


The Ogden Cami. pattern is onc of the most popular patterns I have seen. Kelli from True Bias really hit the jackpot on this one. There are endless hacks to this pattern too. Check out all the versions in #ogdencami and all the hacks at #ogdencamihack


This is also the best pattern for remnants. You don't need much fabric at all. The front and back pieces are all you really need fabric for. The straps can be made from scraps and the facings can be from anything since they are hidden.


Ogden Cami #1


For my first Ogden Cami, I decided to use the remnants from a Rayon challis I used to make a dress.

Using the size chart and the finished garment measurements I decided to cut out a size 8. Since the straps are sewn in later, you can always adjust the length of the straps to fit you better. I recommend you go with your bust measurements.


This pattern has a pretty low back which is very flattering. So be sure to check if you are happy with the length of your back before sewing in your straps.


Since I am short waisted, I always have to shorten the bodice. So to get the fit I am comfortable with, I had to shorten the straps by 1inch.


With this, I am able to comfortably wear a bra with this cami.


Ogden Cami #2


For my second Ogden Cami, I wanted to have a different look and decided to make one out of the remnant linen viscose from my Haori Jacket.

I love how this linen viscose one turned out as well. It is such an awesome addition to any wardrobe.


Techniques you will learn


The techniques used in sewing this garment is pretty beginner friendly.


1. How to. attach a V-neckline facing

2. How to turn out straps and sew them between the garment and the facing

3. How to sew a narrow hem. (this is how I like to finish this hem.



Styling


In this post, I have styled both my ogden cami's with RTW high wasted jeans and my black chelsea style boots from Cole Haan.


Get Inspired - Ways to hack the Ogden


I highly recommend you make this cami. You can easily hack it into a


1. Dress with a gathered skirt in the bottom.

2. You can also just increase the length of this top and add slits to the side to have a beautiful slip style dress.

3. You can add multiple tiers of gathered fabric to make a beautiful summer dress (Think of this in lightweight linen!!!! hmmmm)

4. You can make it in your favorite cozy flannels or silk for sleep wear

5. You can shorten the top and add a peplum to it to have a very different look

6. You can change the straps to ties


Check out True Bias's blog site for other inspiring hacks!


I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you. Pease leave me a message in the comments section below.

WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page