top of page

Cortney Top and dress by Marsha Style

In this post I will talk about how I made this beautiful dress hacked from the Courtney top pattern.

I am one of the lucky few that tested this gorgeous pattern this year. I absolutely love the sleeves on this. You can buy the pattern here.


The Pattern


If you love yourself some awesome sleeves don't look any further. This is the pattern you have been waiting for.


The pattern can be made as a top or short dress. It also have 2 sleeve options. One which has pleats and one that is gathered. I chose to make the pleated sleeves and make this into a maxi style dress with side slits.


When I first tested this pattern, the ease was very large. I first chose to make a size 4 which was much too big on me. I had to to take the pattern in a lot on the sides to make it not be a pillow cover.


For this dress, I chose to make a size 2. This looked much much better. I lengthened the dress to a maxi length and added slits just above my knee. I also made the dress a little tapered to compensate for the large sleeves. I love how this came out. :)



Taree from Marsha style shows us a new method to make the button placket and it makes the whole process so simple. I would surely be using her plackets in. some of the other garments I make.


The Fabric


This is a gorgeous locally sourced dead stock cotton. It has such a soft hand and a gorgeous drape, you want to make all the flowy dresses and blouses with it. The simple natural oatmeal colour also brings out the silhouette beautifully.




Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this top/dress, you will


1. Learn a new method to sew button plackets


2. Learn to sew in large pleated or gathered sleeves


3. Sew buttons and buttonholes


4. Sew a collar


I love this pattern and I am already looking to make a top version of this pattern soon.


Do check out all other Marsha's Style pattern. I love them.


WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page