top of page

Wiksten Haori Jacket by Shop Wiksten

In this post, I talk about all the different versions of this jacket I have made #thehemlineeclectin #wikstenhaori #shopwiksten


This is my favorite jacket pattern. I love the over-sized look and I have made so many of them. This is a perfect gift for friends/family because it has no fitting needed. :)


The Pattern


This pattern is very well drafted. It has very few pattern pieces and can be made with or without a lining. The pattern also looks amazing as a light linen jacket or a warm wool/fleece jacket. I love the large lined pockets that you can add extra detailing to.


The jacket comes in 3 different lengths. for your preference. I love the medium length for my height. It hits just above my mid-thigh and is perfect.


The pattern also has a lot of ease, so look at the finished garment measurements to decide on a size.


Wiksten Haori #1 - Fabric choice


I found this pattern during summertime and so wanted to make a lighter jacket. I was inspired by the unlined linen jacket made by Candice from Sew Bake Make on instagram and I decided to do the same.


For my first one I chose to make the medium length in this beautiful yellow linen viscose blend fabric that I purchased from Joann's. It has the lovely comfort and breathability of linen and the drape of viscose. And this color is one of my favorite!


Sewing Wiksten Haori #1


I chose to cut out a size small.


Since I was not lining the jacket, I needed just about 2.5yards of this fabric. I french seamed all the seams to have a great finish on the inside. Since the seam allowance was 3/8 inch, given the ease this pattern has, I decided to sew it with 1/2" seam allowance instead. So I sewed two 1/4". seams and have a great finish!


To make this jacket unlined, the step in the instructions where they asked to sew the lining into the main fabric, I just hemmed the main fabric by 3/8 inch and edge stitched the hem. The collar fits perfectly to this hem.


I also decided I only wanted to interface the outer collar and not the inner collar. I thought it might look too stiff for this fabric. I loved how that turned out. I decided to keep the folded collar design. I have seen many versions online where they make half collar (similar to the Named Lahja dressing gown) for a more relaxed look.


I also reinforced the pockets by sewing a triangle at the edges. This is not mentioned in the instructions and with such big pockets it got caught with a door handle once. The reinforcement is necessary




The jacket came together very well and I was very happy with it. It was so good for the cold summer/fall evenings and that color really brightens up any outfit.



Sewing Wiksten Haori #2


For my second Haori jacket I wanted to make it with a 100% natural linen so it would go with more of my outfits, or for when I do not want to make that much fo a statement with my jacket.


I decided to cut out the XS size and make the short version this time which has smaller pockets and hits just above my hips. I do like this jacket but I don't reach for it as much as for the medium length jacket!


I followed the exact same method as my first one with french seams and interfacing only one of the collars. This came together very well as well.



Sewing Wiksten Haori #3


My third Haori was for a dear friend. She loved my unlined medium length version and requested one in a beautiful linen cotton jaquard from Blackbird fabrics.


I made this version exactly the same version as my #1 except I decided to interface both collars. Since linen cotton blend in general has more structure (especially a jacquard weave) than a linen viscose blend, the fully interfaced collar looked beautiful. I also noticed that the fully interfaced collar fit much better than when I only interfaced one collar.


This one is by far my favorite version. The fabric was absolutely perfect for this jacket. This black beauty will become a staple in any wardrobe! I was almost sad to mail it to my friend!



Sewing Wiksten Haori #4 - Cold weather version


Winter had arrived and I wanted to make a fleece Haori with a lining. I chose this lovely raspberry colored fleece and a pink and black leopard print polyester lining.


Working with the stretchy fleece was not easy as this pattern is not made for anything stretch. The fleece pieces has grown whileI was sewing and I had to make the lines even again before inserting the lining.


The collar was a bit of a struggle with this fabric, but it turned out OK in the end. I decided to use the lining fabric for the upper collar to give it a bit more excitement.


In the end, this is a jacket I reach for a lot now that it is cold. It is very cozy fleece and I feel like I am wrapped in my blanket while at work!!


Techniques you will learn


1. How to sew a lined jacket

2. How to attached a jacket collar


Styling


In this post, I have styled my yellow haori with a Zadie wrap top and RTW levi's black jeans.


I have styled my natural linen short haori with an ogden cami and RTW black jeans.


I have styled my linen cotton jacquard haori with my brown Ruska tee and an RTW light blue jeans.


And finally, I have styled my fleece haori with my pinnacle top and a RTW jeans.


In all looks, I am wearing my chelsea style black boots from Cole Haan.


Get Inspired


I highly recommend that you try this pattern. It is such a fast and satisfying sew. I think every wardrobe needs a Haori! Please leave me a msg in the comments below if you have any questions. I leave you with more pictures to inspire you to make your own.



WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page