top of page

Jazz overalls by Ready to Sew from Jazz ebook

In this post, I will discuss how I made these overalls by Ready to Sew #thehemlineeclectic #jazzreadytosew #readytosew

The Jazz ebook and the pattern


The Jazz ebook is the most versatile set of patterns that can be mixed and matched to make 84 different variations. The value for your money is immense. You can build a whole wardrobe with just this e=book.


From this ebook, I have previously made the button down jumpsuit. You can read about it here.


This post is about the amazing overalls pattern in the same ebook. The overalls has 2 bib patterns, one with a button front and one without. Both these have small darts for shaping and criss-cross back.


The overalls can be made with 2 different pants or shorts (you can also sew it to a tiered or non-tiered skirt).

I chose to make View #49


The Jazz ebook does not have finished garment measurements chart. Instead, we have a size chart and the amount to ease available to the bust, waist and hips for each patterns.


From my experience, the Jazz ebook has a lot of ease (a lot). So please calculate what the finished garments measurements will be for your size and how you would like your garment to fit you before choosing to size down.


The size chart puts me in a size 40. But the waist has 10cm of ease and the hips have 25cm of ease.


I do not like such a loose fitting garment. I would prefer to choose a size where it is well fitted at my waist and my hips are not too loose.


So, looking at the finished garment measurements, I chose to cut out a size 34. This size was perfect for my waist and gave me a 5 inch ease on my hips. This to me would be a great fit from the waist down. Although the bib was designed for someone smaller than me at the bust, this is just a bib and I reasoned it will look OK. If it looked bad, I could always just cut out a bigger size bib. I was more interested in getting the pants to fit right.


I also performed the regular modifications I would do for pants, which is to shorten the rise. I shortened both the front and back rise by 1/2 inch.


The hem of these pants finished at a slightly cropped length and I loved it and left it as is.


The Jazz overalls - The Fabric


I have seen these overalls made in made different fabrics. You can see the many versions here. When I was looking through the different versions, I found this made by the designer herself. The fit of this was what I wanted to achieve and she had used a linen cotton blend and the structure of those flare pants was beautiful.


She had also hacked the pants with pleats. The original instruction in the jazz ebook asks you to gather the pants and fit it to the waistband. But another sewist hacked knife pleats onto he pants, which gave it a more polished silhouette which I loved. You can see a whole blog post here dedicated to this hack.


I decided that I wanted pleats as well and followed this blogpost instructions and sewed up mine.


I think the overalls would look great in many different fabrics from cotton twill, wool to even viscose. I would certainly try this in other fabrics but I am very happy to make my first with a linen/cotton blend.

Sewing the overalls


The instructions to make this overalls is pretty straight forward. I did not have any issues.


Once I finished the bib and the pants separately, the instructions asked you to gather the top of the pants, At this point, I shifted to the hack instructions on the blog and everything fit perfectly. The zipper instructions are very clear.


I did try the pants on first to check the fit on my waist before completing the waist. The fit was perfect and absolutely gorgeous. These overalls will make you stand out no matter what fabric it is made out of.


You can style it for the summer with a t-shirt or a tank top and for the winter with a turtle neck and tights. Yay! :)


I want to make another one in one of my favorite colors - Mustard yellow! :)


Techniques you will learn


If you chose to make these overalls, you will learn to


1. Fit overalls


2. Sew pants with a back zipper


3. Sew an invisible zipper.


4. Gather the pants (if you choose) or calculate and pleat your pants.


5. Sew knife pleats (if you decide to do the hack)


Styling


In this post, I have styled my overalls with a striped RTW tee and my brown ankle boots from Cole Haan.


Get Inspired


The patterns in this ebook is gorgeous. They are all mostly beginner friendly with a looser silhouette and workable with many different fabric types. I highly recommend buying this ebook and giving it a shot. I leave you here with more photos to inspire you.

WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page