top of page

Jazz e-book from Ready to Sew

In this post, I talk about the Jazz e-book pattens from Ready to Sew and walk you through one of the patterns I made. #thehelineeclectic #jazzreadytosew #readytosew




The Jazz E-book


I have previously talked about how much I love the style of Ready to Sew's patterns. They suit my style perfectly. So when I saw that she has an e-book which gives you about 84 different variations, I had to get it. There are jumpsuits, dresses, dungarees, pants, skirts - A whole wardrobe!! Check it out here - Jazz ebook.


Of all the amazing styles in this book, I chose to so view #44, A simple V-neck button down bodice with an enclosed facing and straight pants.


This patterns in this book are divided into

1. bodices of different necklines + bibs

2. Flare and straight pants

3. Skirts of different tiers


So you can mix and match whatever you like. you can increase the length of the bodices and make a top, or draft a waistband and make pants or skirts too! There are endless combinations for the price you pay for this digital pattern. Go buy it now!


View 44


When I went through all the different options in the pattern, this view 44 jumped out at me, I love the relaxed feel of this jumpsuit.


The silhouette can be enhanced if you sew yourself a tie for the waist. But I just love this look.


The fabric


You will achieve so many different looks with different types of fabric. I have seen these pants made in linen and in wool and both look great. I chose to make mine in a linen cotton blend. This is part of the Robert Kaufmann Essex yarn collection in the color eggplant. I love love this color (purple is one of my favorite colors). I would not try this in a knit fabric. Since it already has so much ease it the patterns, you will have to be very careful which size you choose.


Choosing the size


Ready to Sew patterns do not give you finished garment measurements. Each pattern has an ease amount next to each measurement on the size chart. So it takes some calculations to figure out what the final garment will look like. Another aspect is the difference between cm to inches. All Ready to Sew patterns are in cm. I have to convert them all to inches because I can never remember my measurements in cm 😂.


So after much calculations and going back and forth, I decided to cut out a size 34 straight. The pants are gathered onto the bodice so there is a looot of room!


Sewing the Jazz jumpsuit


Because of how much ease this pattern had, I did not do a toile. I placed the paper pattern on myself to check the length of the bodice and surprisingly I did not have to shorten it. Even the V-neck fit my body perfectly (since I chose a size 34). Had I gone with the size recommended for my measurements, I will be floating in it!! Think about ease people before choosing your size!


For the pants, I did have to shorten the front and back rise by 1". I was also surprised that I did not have to shorten the hem!! Yay!!


I was all set to cut out the fabric. Oh! Because there are so so many variations in this book, there are no fabric consumption chart. You will have to eyeball it. If you are around 5'3", you can make this jumpsuit with 3 yards of 44" wide fabric. Even if you decide to make the flare pants, you can do it in 3 yards. So going from there, if your fabric is more than 44" wide, you can make do with less than 3 yards! Remember your fabric will shrink when you pre-wash, so keep it in mind when you decide on yardage!

The jumpsuit came together pretty easily. The drafting of all these multiple pieces has been done very well. The instructions and illustrations are easy to follow.


The button plackets and the facing need to be interfaced so have some interfacing handy. My favorite is the Pellon shape-flex SF101. It is perfect for all the woven fabric I use to make clothes.

I love the soft but structured look of this outfit! I might one day make a tie to go with it, but for now I have been rocking this look. I hope you will make it too


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this jumpsuit, you will learn to


1. Sew a fully enclosed facing

2. Sew a front button placket

3. Sew pants

4. Gather your pants

5. Sew your pants onto your bodice

6. Sew buttons and button holes


Styling


For this post I have styled my jumpsuit with my strappy brown sandals from Cole Haan.


Get Inspired


I highly recommend you try out his pattern. There are so many options in this pattern, you will find something for everyone. I leave you here with more photos to inspire you. Please let me know if you have any questions or comments below.


WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page