top of page

Hacked Jazz Flare Pants from Jazz Ebook by Ready to Sew

In this post, I will walk you through how i hacked the Jazz ebook to make these flare pants #thehemlineeclectic #jazzreadytosew #readytosew


I love the Jazz ebook. I had previously made a jumpsuit from this ebook and an overalls (which I have not blogged about it yet, but you can see it below and on Instagram here).



Jazz ebook pattern


You can learn more about this ebook patterns in my last post here.


This pattern has 2 different pants, the straight pants that I used for the jumpsuit and a flare pants that I used for the overalls. I loved how the flare pants fit me. The length and flare was perfect. I used the hack on the Ready to Sew blog and made knife pleats in the front and back instead of gathers. This completely changed the silhouette and I love how it turned out




Since i made the overalls, I was inspired to make just the pants with the waistband hacked from the bib of the overalls.


The Jazz ebook pattern has a lot of ease. I chose to make size 34 for the overalls. I used the same pattern pieces to make the pants.


The fabric


I decided to go for a less structured look and bought this rayon blend from PDX sewing Studio. I loved the black and white stripes and how they were spaced. In my mind they made a perfect pair of relaxed pants. I bought 2 yards of the fabric and it was perfect for my size.


Hacking the pattern


The top of the overalls, the bib, can be easily transformed into the waistband. Be sure to choose a size that is closest to your waist. I would give myself not more than 5/8 inch ease. Here is what I did


1. I used the bib pattern piece and drew a line across to form a straight waistband.


2. I copied this new waistband into a fresh piece of paper. Make sure to check the length of the waistband on yourself for fit. If you have another high waisted pants you love, check the length of the pattern piece with that. The invisible zipper will be attached with 5/8inch seam allowance so please account for that when you check.


3. When you cut out your fabric, cut 2 on fold and interface


4. Follow the instructions as per the ebook to make the pants


5. When it comes to attaching the waistband to the pants, instead of gathering the pants, follow the instructions on Ready to Sew's blog post and make pleats instead.


Sewing the waistband


6. Right sides together sew the length of the waistbands on one side. Trim the seam allowance if you need to reduce bulk.


7. Fold towards the wrong side on the inner waistband by 3/8 inch and press


8. Follow the ebook instruction to sew on the waistband to the pants (same as sewing the bib onto the pants). Pin the waistband to the pants, right sides together along the unpressed edge and sew with a 3/8inch seam allowance. Trim and press the seam allowance towards the waistband


9. Fold the waistband and sew the inner waistband in place by stitching in the ditch.


10. The zipper should line with the top of the waistband


11. Hem your pants and give it a good press!!


Fumbles


I miscalculated and sewed my invisible zipper lower than i should have. This left me with a gap on the top of my waistband.


I decided to add a loop and button to make up for this. I quite like how this turned out.


Techniques you will learn


To do this hack, you will need to have at least made one pair of pants before which has a waistband.


If you decide to make this hacked pants, you will


1. Learn to draw your own waistband


2. Learn to draft pleats for your pants


3. Learn to sew pants


4. Learn to attach a waistband to pants


5. Learn to sew an invisible zipper.


Styling


In this post, I have styled my pants with my RTW bodysuit style top from Zara and a black chelsea style boots from Cole Haan.


Get Inspired


I am so happy that I am able to make what I dreamed of. I love these pants and can see them in lovely linen or linen cotton blend. The pleats give it an addition feature that will make this stand out! I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you to sew this pattern



WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page