top of page

Axis Tank by Sophie Hines and Avery Leggings by Helen's Closet

In this post, I will walk you through how I made this tank and leggings set, perfect for a workout! #thehemlineeclectic #shaxistank #averyleggins #helenscloset #sophiehines


This is my first time making activewear! I love these two patterns together.


The Patterns


These two patterns can go so well together for a perfect workout outfit. The different ways you can make the tank allows you to color block and match your leggings.


I have previously made one version of the Axis Tank. You can read about that here. This time I went with a scoop neck front and a color blocked red patch that runs from side to side.


For the Tank, I cut out a size 8/10. I always have to shorten the bodice in any garment (knit or woven). So I shortened the bodice at the shoulders by 1 inch. To compensate for the smaller circumference, I also shortened the armhole bands by 1inch.


The pattern also comes with a hem band that you can use to adjust the tightness of the tank if you need. I did not modify the hem.


Although I love how this tank fits, I feel I should shorten the back of the tank by 1/2inch. I will that next time.


This tank and the leggings are such fast sews. I was able to finish this whole outfit in one afternoon.



This is my first pair of Avery leggings that I love. I made one before this but the crotch fit was off and I had to make some changes. Now they fit perfectly.


I cut out a size a 8/10.


One of the normal adjustments that I have to do in all bottoms is to shorten the rise. I went ahead and shortened the rise by 1inch for my first one. This was a bad idea. This ended up being too low and the leggings fit badly and worse, looked weird.


This time around, I did not shorten the rise, instead, I shortened the height of the waistband by 1.5 inch . I also shortened the length of the leggings by 1.5 inch to fit my height.


These new modifications turned out perfect.

The Fabrics


I chose athletic/active wear fabric. These are usually pretty sturdy fabrics made out of nylon and spandex.


I chose a relatively heavy black fabric for the leggings and the tank. For the contrasting red, it was the same fibre content but a much lighter fabric. Both fabrics were purchased from Joann's.


Both patterns recommend fabrics that are at least 50-70% stretch. So make sure you purchase the right fabric. Usually anything that contains spandex will have a good amount of recovery. Do you not want to buy 100% cotton or rib knits for this project. Any performance grade fabric will be perfect for a workout outfit.


I would love to make these leggings in a rayon spandex jersey fabric for a more day to day use.


Sewing the patterns


Both these patterns are not only a quick sew, they both have excellent instructions.


Avery Leggings


I have sewn several Helen's closet patterns before and as usual, her instructions will make even a beginner sewist feel confident.


This pattern was the same. I had never done an elasticated waistband for leggings before and Helen walks you through the technique with ease! There are a lot of tips and tricks about using knit fabric too.


One aspect of Helen's instructions I love, is that she explains why something is done a certain way. This helps you better understand why you are doing what you are doing, which is awesome for both new and advanced sewist.


Axis Tank


This is my first Sophie Hines pattern. Although there is nothing very complex about sewing this pattern, I love her constructions. This tank make me feel very good and gives me complete coverage. She gives you so many options to make this your own!


Her instructions were very clear and also very beginner friendly.


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make both these patterns, you will -


1. Learn to sew with activewear fabrics


2. Learn how to reinforce seams for such fitted garments


3. attaching neck, arm and hem bands


4. Attaching an elasticated waist band


5. Attaching a gusset



Get Inspired


I absolutely loved making both these patterns. They are such fast sews, they are bound to give you satisfaction. Both designers hand hold you through every step. So don't be afraid to give it a try.


If you go to Helen's Blog, she has added a hack to the leggings where you can add a side panel with a pocket. Check it out here.


I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you to sew this for yourself!





WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page