top of page

Axis Tank by Sophie Hines

In this post, I will talk about how I made the Axis Tank #shaxistank #axistank #sophiehines

Sophie Hines designs some of the best lingerie pattens for the home sewing community. I have not ventured into making my own undergarments but when I saw this tank, I loved it.


It works great as a regular tank and can be used for activewear. You can also make one to sleep in! :)


The Axis Tank - Pattern


This Pattern has 4 front views and 2 back views to choose from. So you have endless color blocking for each view. The pattern has a neck band, armhole bands and a hem back which can be color blocked with matching leggings! :)

Because this pattern has so many different options, Sophie has provided a cheat sheet of all the pattern pieces needed to make each view. This was very useful!


This pattern does not have any side seams. The front and back are one piece. You sew the back seam and the shoulder seams that thats it!! Such a fast sew!


This is one of the best scrap buster patterns for knit fabric. You can have so many tanks so fast!!


For my first Axis tank. I chose to make View 3 and I cut out a size 8/10 or M.


As usual, for my shorter torso, I shortened the bodice by 1 inch near the shoulder straps. Since the armcyse are finished with a band, you have to also shorten the bands equally so you have a good finish.

The Axis Tank - The Fabric


I decided to make mine in a performance fabric from Joann's. I had initially purchased this to make leggings for my kids for camping/backpacking, but I never got around to it. So when I wanted to test out this tank, I didn't have to look far from my stash.


You can make this with any spandex based knit that has about 30-50% stretch. I made my toile in some leftover rayon spandex and it had a completely different look. I sleep in it. :)


I would prefer to make this in a more study fabric like a performance fabric. I also prefer to wear mine with a bra (with razor back). After 2 kids the girls need more support and I don't like my nipples showing while in public.


Since this is such a close fitting pattern, I highly recommend making a toile.


In these pictures, I am wearing my Axis tank with my RTW ikat pants.


Tips for sewing with knits


Sewing with knits can be daunting for some people. There are so many videos and blog online to help you get over this hurdle. Here are my tips to have a great experience with sewing with knits.


1. Use a stretch stitch. In the instructions, Sophie talks about the best stitch to use to make this tank and how to reinforce the seams. Pay attention to those instructions to get a very well finished garment.


2. Use a ball point needle. This is extremely important so you don't make holes in your fabric as you sew.


3. One of the most annoying things about sewing with knits is how the machine tends to eat your fabric. If this has happened to you before, it is not fun. You may have to take the whole throat plate out to retrieve your fabric!!! This happens especially when you first start sewing at the ends. Here is my trick to avoid this mess.


a. I always have scraps of the same knit fabric with me when I am sewing (decent sized scraps)


b. Fold your scrap fabric, so it is the same thickness as your garment and first start sewing on the scrap piece of fabric. I would sew about 1-2inchs into the scrap fabric.


c. As you come to the end of the scrap fabric, feed your garment into the machine. This way your feed dogs are already working. Your machine does not realize what you are trying to do and will keep sewing. :) yay!!!


d. After I sew a few cms into my garment, I backstitch to reinforce this seam and then continue on.


e. Repeat this for every seam with an edge. When you sew in rounds, like hems or bands, my machine does not seem to want to eat up my fabric!


Do you have any other tips??



Techniques you will learn


This pattern is pretty beginner friendly. You can learn


1. How to sew with knits

2. How to sew a band to finish knit garments



Styling


In this post, I have styled my axis tank with my RTW ikat wide pants which featured a zip fly and an elastic back waistband. I love these pants and will be drafting out a pattern from this exact pair.


Get Inspired


This was such a fast and satisfying sew, If you lack your SewJo and need a quick starter, this is it!!! Just go for it. Show me your makes! I leave you here with more photos to inspire you.






WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page