top of page

Talam Jumpsuit aka. secret pyjamas by Sew Liberated

In this post, I will walk you through my experience sewing this knit jumpsuit. #thehemlineeclectic #sewliberated #talamjumpsuit

First of all, I want to apologize for this long gap in my posts. This past month has been very busy at home taking care of sick kids. I have not had as much time to take pictures of all the garments I have sewn.


I have also been working mostly on my collaboration with Minerva. So I have been posting on my Minerva page here.


Talam Jumpsuit


I had the lovely opportunity to test for one of the most amazing sewing pattern companies - Sew Liberated. Every pattern they release is so well thought through and always hits all the check boxes of style and comfort for me. So when I had the opportunity to join their testing team, I was elated. And boy was this jumpsuit worth it.


The jumpsuit has 2 views and goes up to size 34. The 2 views are only different in their sleeve length!


Previous experience working with knits would be absolutely essential for this jumpsuit.


This jumpsuit is the most comfortable piece of garments I have made and own. You will not want to take it off. The fabric and the style makes you feel so free.


Sewing the Jumpsuit


This jumpsuit is very forgiving for size because of its wrap style and knit fabric. Looking through the sizing chart I first chose to make a size 6. Next time, I will size down even further to a 4 or even a 2.


There are many pattern pieces for this garment so make sure to be careful to keep your grain line in mind.


They recommend a jersey fabric that has some drape. I chose to make mine in this Telio Rayon Jersey I purchased from Fabric.com.


This pattern is a fabric eater! The pattern recommends at least 4 yards of fabric is needed. The bodice is fully lined and is finished with a clear elastic. So I would recommend you get all your notions and the right amount of fabric ready prior to sewing.


You don't need a serger to sew this garment. I do not yet own a serger. I used my sewing machine and a lightening stitch for this machine. The instructions recommend stitch style and length for the clear elastic and I recommend you follow it.


I cut out a straight size 4. But I found that the amount of fabric on my butt was too much. I therefore graded to a size 0 to the center front and that worked out very well.




Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this jumpsuit, you will learn to


1. Sewing with knits!


2. Sewing a clear elastic


3. Sewing inseam pockets


4. Sewing a fully lined bodice.




Get Inspired


I highly recommend this secret pyjamas!! I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you. make this jumpsuit!




WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page