top of page

Fibre mood DIY shirt with Ruska t-shirt pattern from Named Clothing

In this post, I will walk you through how I sewed this DIY shirt pattern #thehemlineeclectic #namedclothing #fibremooddiy #ruskatee


The Fabric


I fell in love with this fabric the moment I saw it. It is a sweater knit with a perfect stretch for a t-shirt. It has a lovely drape and hand. I first thought that this fabric may be too sheer due to the cut out triangle but I was wrong (read more to find out)!! I love how this t-shirt turned out in thus fabric. The knit is pretty sturdy and my machine loved it and did not want to gobble it up! It worked great for a t-shirt with a twist!



The Idea


When I first saw this fabric, I thought it would make a great cardigan. I thought that the triangles would make the garment too sheer if made into a clothing. But I was wrong. The triangles are actually filled with a mesh which allows for enough coverage in my opinion. I am not wearing a tank top in these pictures and I am happy with the coverage. When I realized that it was not sheer, I wanted to make a slightly romantic version of the regular t-shirt.


The Hack


For this hack, I followed the instructions on the Fibremood DIY free pattern, which teaches you how to draft the flounce and add it to a t-shirt. I followed the exact same directions. I decided to use the Lovely Ruska tee as a base t-shirt pattern. This pattern has a center front seam. Since I wanted to add these flounces to the t-shirt, I omitted the center front seam allowance and cut the front on the fold.


It is very easy to change the width of the flounce according to your preference.


This fabric however does not have enough stretch to use for a neckband. I therefore used another white stretch knit fabric scrap I hard for the neckband. Since the flounce was wide enough to act as sleeves, I decided to not add sleeves to the t-shirt and finished the armcyse with an armhole band.



Get Inspired!


I absolutely love how this turned out. Perfect modification to spruce up any t-shirt you already have too. I highly recommend trying this hick for this fabric. I also think this fabric would be great for cardigans with a lot of eases.




WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page