top of page

Nathalie Bodysuit by Untitled Thoughts

In this post, I will talk about how I sewed this bodysuit. #thehemlineeclectic #utnathaliebodysuit.


My overall style is not very feminine. I like comfortable clothes that fit me well. But these ruffles on the back and this fitted bodysuit really spoke to me. I had to make it!


The Pattern


The Nathalie Bodysuit Pattern comes in 2 forms. you can make it as a bodysuit with buttons or just as a top. The pattern also gives you different sleeve lengths and you can also make it without the ruffles!


For this post, I chose to make the top version with elbow length sleeve and the ruffles!! :)


I went by the size chart and chose to make a size B.


I did not perform any modifications on the pattern pieces.


Sewing the top


I chose to use a lovely rayon spandex from the Sewing Studio. The color is vibrant and I love this fabric.


The instructions for this pattern is pretty straightforward and very detailed. This makes it a fantastic pattern for beginners who want to get into sewing with knit fabrics. The front has a dart which I think was great for shaping. I wouldn't skip the dart on this one.


Adding the ruffles was surprisingly very easy. The instructions walk you through everystep of the way.

Once I tried on the finished top, I found the sleeve cap was too tall. So I gave it a 3/4" seam allowance and graded to the armcyse notches on either sides.


I also found that the armhole was too large, so I used a 3/4" seam allowance from the armpit and graded to the waistline of the top.


These adjustments made this top. fit. really well. I am very happy with how it turned out.




Techniques you will learn


If you choose to sew this top, you will learn to


1. Sew with knits


2. Sew darts with knit fabric


3. Fitting a bodysuit


4. Adding ruffles to the back


Get Inspired


I absolutely loved making this and have plans to make more. I highly recommend you try this pattern. I leave you here with a few more photos to inspire you!! I am wearing the bodysuit with my new Clyde Work Pants by Elizabeth Susan. Wait for the next post about the pants! :)


WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page