top of page

Valley Jumpsuit by Ready to Sew and Peppermint Magazine

In this post I will walk you through how I made this beautiful jumpsuit #thehemlineeclectic #readytosew #peppermintmagazine #peppermintvalleyjumpsuit

Peppermint Magazine


Peppermint magazine is a treasure trove of amazing free sewing patterns. They collaborate with amazing pattern designers such as Tara from Paper Theory, Lauren from Elbe Textiles and Emily from In the Folds to name a few. So each and every pattern I have made from Peppermint magazine has been a very enjoyable experience. For beginner sewists, this is a really great resource to get into sewing garments.

The Valley Jumpsuit


This time, Peppermint magazine has collaborated with one of my favorite designers for the first time, Raphaelle from Ready to Sew. My style is exactly the patterns she creates. All her clothing are designed to be comfortable yet stylish due to her unique design details.


This Valley jumpsuit pattern is deftly all the above. The moment I saw this pattern, i jumped to the top of my list. This is a cropped jumpsuit designed to have the front and back bodice as 1 pattern piece. The front is a button up and the back also has one button. The elastic waist give it a lovely comfortable silhouette. I love every detail of this pattern.


I decided to make this pattern in a lovely bright block print fabric that I bought online from Fibers to Fabric on Etsy.


This pattern has a lot of ease. So I went with the finished garment measurements using the hip/bust measurements (they are the same) and chose to cut out a size 32.



Since the pattern is drafted for someone taller than me, and I am short waisted, I made a few changes to the pattern to achieve a better fit.


1. I shortened the length of the pants by 2"


2. I shortened the front and back bodice by 1.5" (in retrospect I should have reduced it only by about 0.5"


3. I shortened the sleeve length by 1.5"


4. I shortened the length of the pockets by 1"


Sewing the Jumpsuit


This was a pretty simple sew. The instructions are similar to all ready to sew patterns. She does not use too many words but you have all the information you need to sew the garment. She also have links to videos of how to add the waist elastic which is very useful.


If you are a beginner sewist, this is a great pattern for you too. I would recommend reading all the instructions and videos ahead of time.


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this jumpsuit. you will learn to


1. understand how a single pattern piece with front and back comes together


2. How to sew a button placket and buttons


3. How to sew an elastic waist casing


4. How to add patch pockets


5. How to finish a neckline using bias facing.



Styling the Jumpsuit


In this post, I have paired the jumpsuit with simple pearl earrings and my Dr.Martens's sandals. This jumpsuit is very easy to style. For the warmer months you can pair it with a turtle neck and ankle boots.


Get Inspired


This jumpsuit pattern would look great in so many lightweight woven fabrics. I can even see it made in a lighter corduroy for the warmer months! I already have my second one planned. I leave you here with more photos to inspire you to make yours.





WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page