top of page

Shameka Top by Marsha style

In this post I will walk you through how I made Marsha style's latest pattern - The Shameka top and dress #thehemlineeclectic #marshastyle #msshamekatop

The Shameka Top and Dress Pattern


This pattern has 5 different views and you can make this pattern in both woven and knit fabric! It is not often that you come across such a versatile pattern.


For this post, I decided to make the top version. I certainly want to try the dress view and make another with knit fabric.


Marsha Style has many easy to wear patterns and I think the Shameka is one of my favorites. It is so easy to style and it looks so good in so many different body types.


The Fabric


I decided to make the top in this lovely tie and dye tencel twill I purchased from Joann's. Tencel by far is my most favorite apparel fabric. It is opaque an has the perfect drape. It is made from Eucalyptus trees and so is a natural fibre although it does go through a heavy treatment process that it is not easily made as other fibres such as cotton and linen. However, there are some standards set for making Tencel fabric in sustainably. Look for Lenzing certification if you want to purchase sustainably made tencel fabrics!



Sewing the Shameka top


I decided to make a cropped version of the top.


1. I cut out a size 4 looking at the size chat and the finished garment measurements.


2, I noticed that the armholes are pretty large. I shortened the armhole opening by 1.5 inches.


3. I also shortened the armhole elastic casings by 1.5" overall.


4. I shortened the hem of the top so it hits just at my high hips.


This pattern is a very fast sew with very few seams. I had no problems sewing it up. The instructions were very clear even telling you when to finish seams.


The method she uses to attach the elastic casing is unique and I enjoyed making it this way.


Overall I was able to cut the fabric and sew the top in about 3 hours. Fun afternoon! :)


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this top, you will learn how to


1. Finish a neckline with bias facing


2. Sew an elasticated sleeve band


Get Inspired


I absolutely loved sewing up this top. It is effortlessly chic and I think dress version would be amazing as well. I certainly look forward to making more. This is also a very beginner friendly pattern with very few seams and straight lines. I leave you here with a few more photos to inspire you to sew this pattern.







WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page