top of page

Pocket Skirt by Paper Theory and Peppermint Magazine

In this post, I will talk about how I made the pocket skirt and discuss the pattern. #thehemlineeclectic #peppermintpockerskirt #peppermintmagazine #papertheory #freepatterns



The Pocket Skirt


This pattern was designed by the lovely Tara Viggo from Paper Theory for Peppermint magazine. I love her style. Through Peppermint magazine, we are all so lucky to have access to free patterns by amazing designers. Please check out all the free patterns. You can download the pocket skirt here.


This pattern was made for color blocking. If you search #peppermintpocketskirt on instagram you can see all the amazing versions of this skirt. This skirt has very different silhouettes depending on the fabric you choose. I loved using 100% cotton for this pattern, It really brings out the structure of this silhouette while still having a great drape for a skirt.


The elastic waistband makes this such a comfortable make!! #secretpyjamas


Let's talk about the pockets!! This skirt is all about the large pockets. They stand center stage and they are beautiful. Imagine how this skirt would look in a corduroy??!! hahaha. There are so many videos on instagram about how many different items (including a whole wine bottle) these pockets can hold. You wont need grocery bags! hahaha.





Choosing a size and fit changes


This pattern has a lot of ease!! Since this pattern has an elastic waistband I decided to go by the finished garment measurement of my hips and I chose to cut a size 6.


This pattern is also drafted for someone who is 5'7" and meant to be mid-shin length. If you are wondering where I get all this information, usually most of the indie pattern companies will right out this information in the first few pages of their instructions where they discuss how to choose your size for this particular pattern. This information is very useful to think about the different height adjustments you will need to make.


To adjust for my height, I shortened the skirt until it hit my mid-shin. The pattern has multiple panels so make sure to shorten all the panels equally. Please check where the pockets will begin and consider where you want to shorten the pocket panels so they match with the front and back panels


Making the skirt


This skirt will look different with different fabrics. I chose to make mine with 100% natural dyed cotton fabric I purchased from iTokri. This fabric was a dream to work with!!


Since this is such a quick sew, I decided to french seam all the raw edges so I have the best finished skirt. I love french seams and I use it whenever I can. In about 3 hours, the skirt was completed and I loved pairing it with my natural dyed crop top I purchased in India or with my ikat #peppermintwraptop


Techniques you will learn


Here are the techniques you learn


1. How a side pocket panel is constructed

2. Hoe to make an elastic waist band



Styling


In this post, I have styled my pocket skirt with a RTW crop top and my black Chelsea boots from Cole Haan.


Get inspired


This is a great beginner friendly project! I hope you will all try it. I leave you here with more inspiring pictures!




WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page