top of page

Pinnacle top by Papercut Patterns

In this post I will walk you through this unique pattern and how i sewed it up #thehemlineeclectin #pinnacletop #papercutpatterns



I loved making this unique top. This pattern does not have a shoulder seam. The front and the back pieces on each side is cut together and the side seams sewn to give you this beautiful top.


There are 3 variations and I chose to do variation 1.


The Pinnacle Top - fabric


This pattern can be made in both woven and knit fabric. The knit fabric is only for variation 3 and should be a bit structured like a sweatshirt fabric for it to have the intended look. This is a great pattern to do some color blocking!!


For my top, I decided to make the plunging neckline version, that has a facing. I chose to make it in some remnant ikat that I had in my stash. I purchased this ikat from iTokri.


I would deftly make more of this and try the other versions. It is a well drafted pattern.


The Pinnacle Top - choosing the size


This top is meant to have a lot of ease. If you picked variation 1, do not be alarmed by how the neckline plunge. The top is meant to be worn with the back slightly pulled down. The other variations with the rounded neckline would be a much better option if this is an issue.


The pattern has a lot of ease, so size down if you need to. After looking at the size chart, I chose to cut out a size 2.


I did not perform any modifications to the pattern for this top. If I were to make a second one for the same variation, I would shorten the V-neckline by about 1.5 inches to fit me much better.



The Pinnacle Top - sewing the top


This is a very quick sew with very few pattern pieces! The instructions are pretty straightforward.


I would highly recommend you follow the instructions about marking your seam allowances to get that perfect point on this neckline. It really was helpful. I would also sew at a slower speed and decrease the stitch length so you hit the marked point perfectly. This will give you a great look.


How would you hack this?


I would love to hack this into a dress by extending the triangles in the bottom front. Extending the top would be pretty straight forward, I think if you were to use the #pepperminteverydaydress as a way to lengthen this top, it would work out very well. I will give this a try and post the modifications I did.


Techniques you will learn


1. How to sew triangular pieces

2. How to sew a V-neckline

3. How a garment with a no shoulder seam is constructed.


Styling


In this post, I have styled mi Pinnacle top with RTW jeans and my black Chelsea boots from Cole Haan.


Get Inspired


I leave you hear with more photos to inspire you to make this pattern!!



WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page