top of page

Peppermint Milton Pinafore

In this post, I will talk about my experience while making this gorgeous pinafore pattern that was a collaboration between Peppermint Magazine and Just Patterns


The Pattern


I was so excited when Delphine from Just Patterns said she has a spot open in her testing group and if I would be willing to test for her latest secret pattern. I absolutely love all her patterns. I urge you to check it out.


I jumped on this offer and I was so happy to see this beauty! Delphine pulled out all the stops on a simple pinafore. The bib. has darts and the waistband starts after the bib. With an A-line skirt and in seam pockets you cannot go wrong.


The back of the skirt (unfortunately I do not have photos this time), stands out due to the button up back. You can get all twisted buttoning up, but it is worth it 😂.


Here is a picture from the magazine site.



The finishing on the inside is simply gorgeous. The instructions ask for french seams all over. I thought since my fabric was more bottom weight, the seams make be too bulky, but they were not. 😁


Sewing the Pinafore



The Pinafore sewed up very well. Everything matched and the instructions were very clear. I would say that this pattern, would be a great one for any beginner wanting to pay attention to finishes. You will very happy in the end!


The pattern spans a huge size range - which is a big plus in the sewing community. For mine, I chose to cut out a size 40 bib, which was graded to a 38 at the waist and a 38 waistband and skirt.


I also shortened the skirt by 2 inches to fit my height.


I chose to use a Chino Cotton Twill fabric from the Sewing Studio in the colourway Mushroom Taupe. I had previously purchased this fabric for another project in mind but when this project came around, I had to make it!


This pattern would look great in any bottom weight fabric. I also think this would look great in ikats, like the sample made for peppermint magazine.


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this pinafore you will learn to


1. Sew darts,


2. Sew french seams


3. Sew in seam pockets


4. Sew button plackets and button holes


Get Inspired


I absolutely love this pattern. This pinafore can be styled in so many ways. It is also very comfortable. I have reached for this garment many times already!😁






WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page