top of page

Palisade Pants by Papercut patterns

In this post, I will walk you through how I made this beautiful ikat pants #thehemlineeclectic #palisadepants #papercutpatterns

When I first saw this amazing ikat fabric from iTokri, I knew I wanted to make some pants with it. The Palisade pants by Papercut Patterns were a perfect pairing.


The Pattern


I loved making this pattern. The drafting was great and the instructions were spot on. I really love wearing elastic waisted pants. They are the most comfortable.


These pants with a straight interfaced front and elastic from the sides to around the back gives these comfy pants a much more put together silhouette.


Looking through the size charts, I made a straight size 4.


The only modification i did was to shorten the rise by 1 inch across all pattern pieces.


This fit me perfectly. I will deftly be making more of these pants in other fabrics.

The pockets of these pants are the most unique. If you use thicker fabric, it can feel a bit bulky because of the number of layers needed for that shape.


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this, you will learn to


`1. Sew pants with panels


2. Sew these amazing pockets


3. Add elastic to the waistband




Get Inspired


I highly recommend this pattern. It was a pretty fast sew as well. I also made these pants in a cotton twill and I love it. It works great in many different types of fabric. I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you.




WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page