top of page

Nova Jumpsuit by True Bias

I absolutely love this jumpsuit. I find myself reaching for it a lot. This jumpsuit is great for just lounging at home, most comfortable clothing to fly in and dress up to go out.


The Pattern


This is the Nova Jumpsuit by True Bias. Kelli from True bias has a amazing eye for design and style lines. I love every one of her patterns.


I while ago I was looking for a jumpsuit with no closures and designed for knit fabric and found this beauty. I have since then made 2 and also hacked it into a dress (watch out for an upcoming post).


The pattern comes with 4 views. you can sew a jumpsuit or a romper with or without the waist elastic. I much prefer the the elasticated waist on me so I went for it. I would lobe to try the other views too.


I find that the true bias patterns run slightly wider on my frame. Looking through the size chart and finished garment measurements, I fall into a size 8 in bust and size 4 for waist and hips. I initially made a toile using size 8 since the waist was elasticated and I could adjust it.


This turned out to be too wide on the shoulders and the neckline was slipping off my shoulders. For this one I chose to cut out s size 6 instead.

Here are some of the changes I made while to the pattern and while I sewed up this beauty.


1. Shortened the front and back rise by 1/2 inch


2. I used 1/2" seam allowance for the center front and center back seams


3. I used 5/8" seam allowance for the side seams.


4. Sewed the shoulders with a 1.5" seam allowance


All these adjustments ended up giving me an amazing fit! I love this jumpsuit (have I said this already!! ) 😁



The Fabric


I used a beautiful Telio Perla Oeko-Tek certified fabric from Fabric.com in the colour way Rhubarb. I absolutely love working with this knit fabric. It is medium weight and is lovely to sew with. Since it is 95% cotton, my machine does not eat it up like it does other knit fabric.


I highly recommend using this fabric for this pattern. This fabric will also be great for t-shirt and t-shirt dresses!


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this fabric, you will learn to


1. Sew with knits


2. Sew a jumpsuit with an fully enclosed facing


3. Sew an elastic casing and insert an elastic


4. Sew in-seam pockets



Get Inspired


I absolutely love this jumpsuit! I hope you will love it too. I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you!










WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page