top of page

Justine skirt by Ready to Sew (pattern for charity)

In this post I talk about how I made my Justine skit from this beautiful rayon #thehemlineeclectic #readytosew #justinereadytosew

The Fabric


This is beautiful rayon, almost a rayon poplin like in texture and drape, that was gifted to me by LA finch fabrics. Josie from LA finch fabrics has excellent sales on her wonderful fabric collection. Check it out here.


She graciously sent me this fabric in exchange for a post. All comments are my own. This fabric has a wonderful hand and would be great to make most apparels that need good drape. It was very easy to work with. Here is how I work with Rayons


1. Sew the cut ends of the fabrics together before washing. You a re basically making a long tube. This prevents the ends from fraying while in the wash for the first time.


2. I hang rayons to dry.


3. I prep the fabric by spraying starch onto the fabric and then ironing it. When you iron, just use the lift and press motion on the wrong side of the fabric. Spraying starch to this kind of slippery fabric makes it more stable when you cut your pattern pieces.


4. I always use a smaller needle to sew with lighter fabrics. I use 75/11 for rayons. Using a sharp needle will be important.


With the amount of yardage I had for this fabric and its drape, I immediately wanted to make a high waisted skirt to show off this fabric. There were 2 patterns I was considering


1. Estuary Skirt by Sew Liberated

2. Justine Skirt by Ready to Sew (all sales of this pattern goes to charity)


The Pattern - The Justine Skirt


Both these patterns were pretty similar. I decided to make Justine skirt.


Looking at the size chart, I chose to cut out size 39, which was exactly the size of my waist. I shortened the length of the skirt so it is about midi length on me. The pattern was drafted for someone 5'6" and I am 5'3".


The skirt has only 3 pattern pieces and it is such a quick sew. Since this skirt has patch pockets the sewing is pretty straightforward.


The skirt came together very easily. The instructions were clear and the illustrations were perfect.


I used 1.5mm buttons for the front of the skirt. Not sure if you can even see the buttons with the busy print. :)


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this pattern, you will learn to


1. Attach patch pockets


2. Gather the skirt


3. Attach a waistband


4. Sew buttons and buttonholes


Styling


In this post, I have styled my skirt with a repurposed body con dress from H&M into a top and my black chclsea style boots from Cole Haan.


Get Inspired


This is a very beginner friendly pattern. I highly recommend making this. It is perfect for the summer and you can dress it up with tights and boots and a turtleneck for the colder months. I leave you here with more photos to inspire you to sew.


WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page