top of page

Peppermint wide leg pants by In the Folds and Peppermint Magazine

In this post, I take you through how I made the peppermint wide leg pants in different fabrics to achieve very different looks. #thehemlineeclectic #inthefolds #peppermintmagazine #peppermintwidelegpants



This were my first pair of pant pattern. I had only been sewing for a few months but decided to go for it. I love the high waisted fit with the very casual wide legs.


Wide leg pants #1



When I decided to try these pants out, I had recently purchased some lovely fabric from iTokri online. I had this beautiful screen printed light weight cotton that I decided to try this with.


Fitting

For this pattern, I went with a size C. although this was a bit smaller than my waist size, the finished garment measured just a little bigger than my natural waist.


Being short waisted, one the most common adjustments I do is to shorten the rise by 1" (both front and back) These days I just make this adjustment no matter what. So far it has worked. I shortened the rise near the fly, and so had to also shorten all the components of the fly, otherwise the drill hole does not line up!


I first made a toile in an old bed spread. This helped me practice adding a fly front and to test if I chose the right size.


As all in the folds patterns go, Emily has amazing instructions. She walks you through how to sew the fly front so well, I didn't have to watch additional you tube videos (which I have to with some patterns). I felt very accomplished after my toile.


One important aspect of a pair of pants is the waistband! I did not realize this and did not add this to my toile. When you toile any pants, don't forget the waistband!


Sewing the waistband to my pants


I must admit that I ran into problems here. This is a curved waistband which give you an amazing fit when done right. However, if you do not follow the directions exactly, your waistband will look like it is much shorter than your pant's circumference.


There is an issue with how the pattern pieces were numbered in the illustrations and I was confused which side should be sewed on to the pants. I also realized that I sewed the top of the waistband to the pants which gave it a very different shape. This also affected the lengths matching up. I basically just took it in the sides a bit more and used a hook and eye, instead of the button to hold the pants up!!


First one down! It has many issues but you cant see it when I wear it! I love these pants and still wear it a lot.



Fixing the waistband issue - Wide leg pants #2



The waistband issue really bothered me. I then emailed Emily from in the folds and she graciously answered immediately with very detailed explanation. Here it is below -

 

Hi Swetha, Thanks for reaching out. I am pleased to hear you are giving this pattern a go!

I am sorry for the confusion caused - someone recently let me know that there is a small error with the labelling, which might be what is causing you the issue.

A customer recently let me know that she had noticed it and sent me this:

The pattern pieces are named:

6 fly cut 1 pair 5 fly shield cut 1 8 front waistband right hand side 7 front waistband left hand side

If I read steps 9 and 11, the names and number of the pieces 6 and 5 don’t match.

The illustration next to step 28, shows piece 7 on the left, which I think is the right leg and piece 8 on the right, which I think is the left leg. That doesn’t match the names of these pattern pieces. Once I switched them, the problems with assembling the waistband were solved.

I also created this tutorial about sewing a curved waistband that should help: https://inthefolds.com/q-a-series/2019/12/4/issue-3-attaching-a-curved-waistband-the-wide-leg-pants

I am sorry for any frustration caused. I'm a one woman team so occasionally small errors slip through the cracks like this (although after this pattern I did invest in getting my patterns copy edited just to be safe). Let me know how you go! Happy sewing, Emily

 

I did exactly what she recommended for me second pair of pants!! and they worked out perfectly.


I made my second one in this beautiful natural dyed cotton. Glorious wrinkles and all!!!


Wide leg pants #3


With my pattern issue fixed and the fit perfected, I decided to try my hands at sewing this beauty in a stretch corduroy!


These pants are not designed for stretchy fabrics. But I love love how this turned out. I love the style and the look of corduroy.

For these stretch version, here is what I did


1. I cut out the same size (Size C)

2. I made the same changes I did for my first 2 - shortened the rise

3. I sewed the side seams with 5/8 seam allowance from the hips to the hem

4. I sewed the inseam with a 5/8 seam allowance

5. I sewed the waistband pieces with a 5/8 seam allowance, matched the notched and sewed it on the pants as normal


The increased seam allowance was enough for this stretchy corduroy to fit properly! It can be a secret pyjamas! Thats how comfortable these pants are!


Techniques to learn


Here are the techniques you will learn with this pattern


1. How to attach a fly zip

2. How to attached a curved waist band

3. How to fit pants

4. How to add pockets


Styling


In this post, I have styled my screen print pants with a cornell shirt, the malkha cotton natural dyed pants with a zadie jumpsuit hacked wrap top and my corduroy pants with a RTW sleeveless turtle neck. I chose to wear my black chelsea boots from Cole Haan for all these looks.


Get Inspired!!


Finally, Here are more pictures for inspiration! Please write to me if you have any questions.


WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page