top of page

Indira Shirt Dress by Fibremood

In this post, I will walk you through how I sewed up this beautiful shirt dress #fibremood #fibremoodindira #thehemlineeclectic

Indira - The Pattern


I love a good shirtdress. And when I found this one by Fibre mood (they have such wonderful patterns) with the same name as my daughter, I had to make it.


The pattern has no sleeves (Yay!), so the front and back are just sewn at the shoulder seams. So this makes it a very quick sew. It does have a large cuff (I have folded it over).


As with all shirt dresses it has a collar and a collar stand. You can decide to have a different look and just have a collar stand finish.


The hem is lower at the back with a gentle grade. And there are pockets!!!


You can purchase the pattern here - Fibre mood Indira


Indira - The Fabric


You can make this in absolutely any woven fabric you choose. Depending on the weight and drape of the fabric, you will have completely different look.


I made this over the summer and so decided to go for this beautiful Rayon Poplin from Fabric.com. It was such a lovely fabric to sew with. As usual for these more delicate fabrics I used a smaller needed (75/11) and used a shorter stitch length (2.0). It came together beautifully.


Indira - Sewing it up


By looking at the size chart and the finished garment measurements, I decided to size down one and cut a size S. I also shortened the hem so it hits just below my knee.



The instructions are very clear (as usual for fibre mood patterns) and the shirt dress came together very well. I love wearing it as a layer on top of a tank. This fabric is pretty busy and can be showcased better as a layer sometimes.


Indira - You can hack it


Here are some fun ideas to hack this pattern


1. shorten the shirt and make a cute crop shirt. I think with the grown in sleeves, it will be a great unique look.


2. You can add a tie front (like Helen's closet Gilbert top)


Do you have other ideas?? Let me know!


Techniques you will learn


This pattern is a great beginner pattern since there are no big fit issue. However you will learn


1. How to sew a collar and a collar stand

2. How to sew a button placket

3. How to sew buttonholes

4. How to sew cuffs


Styling


In this post, I have worn my Indira shirt dress over my RTW black jeans. I have also worn Indira as a duster over my axis tank and my RTW jeans and black chelsea boots from Cole Haan.


Get Inspired


This pattern is great for beginner and to introduce you to shirt sewing. I hope you try to sew it up and show me your makes. Please write to me if you have any questions. I leave you here with more photos to inspire you to make one.






WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page