top of page

Feliz by Fibre Mood

In this post, I walk you through how I made my Fibre mood Feliz dress #thehemlineeclectic #fibremoodfeliz #fibremood - Buy this pattern here - Feliz



I did not realize how much I love a prairie style dress. But when I saw this dress with the Fibre mood link party released the new designs, I had to made it. I dreamed on it in this lyocell twill and here it is! :) I love love the golden hue of this fabric.


The Feliz Dress - Fabric choices


This dress had everything i like. pockets, a great new silhouette, would be so different when made out of different fabric and can be styled so well! I must also say that I love the way Fibre mood style's their models for the shoot. Pairs this dress with these shoes and socks was inpired by their look. Check it out and buy the pattern here. (I get a small commission 😁)


This dress would look in anything with alight hand from rayons to lyocell to chambrays. I have even seen these in lightweight denim and it looks amazing. Try different fabrics!!


Choosing a size and fit!


With almost every other pattern companies, I have to shorten the bodice. Not with Fibre mood. Every design I have tried, I have only had to make very small modifications.


I chose my size according to their size chart. I cut out a size 38. All Fibre mood patterns are layered (so you can choose which size/sizes you want to print out). When you print out these patterns, remember to include both the SA and the stitch line. There seems to be some important markings like pockets and button markings that get removed if you only print the SA (seam allowance). I had to wing the front pocket placements and the sleeve button placements!


Wanna hear it?? I did not do any modifications!! The pattern came together very well. The instructions were very clear. So here are more pictures to look at. I was initially worried that the skirt was too long, but I actually love where it hits with these shoes!


Techniques you will learn


1. Sewing button plackets

2. Sewing a collar

3. Attaching patch pockets

4. Setting in sleeves

5. Adding a sleeve tabs

6. Sewing buttons and buttonholes

7. Sewing gathered fabric

8. Sewing in seam pockets



Styling


This styling inspiration is from the original Feliz photoshoot by fibremood. I am wearing my feliz with my Cole Haan Suede bootie.



Get Inspired!!


Please msg me if you have any questions! Here are some more photos to inspire you to make this one!



WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page