top of page

Hallon Dress by Paradise Patterns - In collaboration with Art Gallery Fabrics

When this pattern first. came out, it was an immediate hit in the sewing community. Like everyone else I fell in love with it right away.


The Pattern


This pattern has a high neck and a very flattering low back that makes it perfect for a beach vacation or a nice night out.


The pattern has 2 views. One with ruffles and one without. I decided to make one with ruffles for this amazing fabric.



The Fabric


I was so excited and happy when I was given the opportunity to collaborate with Art Gallery Fabrics.


I was gifted this beautiful rayon challis fabric designed by Sharon Holland Designs as part of their Lilliput collection. This fabric was the perfect pairing for this pattern.


The fabric has a lovely drape and such a soft hand. It sewed up very well. I will certainly be making more with this fabric in the future.


Sewing up the Hallon


This pattern was surprisingly a very fast sew. It has great finishing on the inside of the fabric making the whole dress that much better.


Looking at the size charts, I chose to make a size 6. It was true to size and fit me perfectly.


The pattern is designed for someone who is 5'7". I needed to shorten the pattern by 4" to fir my height. I did this evening along the whole dress. I shortened the top (along the lengthen/shorten line) by 2" and then again in the bottom for the dress by about 2 ".


If you wanted to raise the back for your comfort, you would shorten it some more on top instead. I must mention that this dress is not bra friendly.


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this dress, you will learn to


1. Sew french seams


2. Gather and attach a ruffle


3. Finish the neckline using bias binding.


4. Sew bust darts.


Get Inspired


I loved making this dress and I cannot wait to get into vacation mode. I have even seen this dress being hacking into a jumpsuit. Check out Geri In Stitches. I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you!




WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page