top of page

Fibre mood Aila shirt hacked into a dress

In this post I will walk you through how I hacked the fibremood Aila shirt into a dress #thehemlineeclectic #fibremoodaila #minervabrandambassador

I love this hack!!! I can see this pattern in so many different fabrics.


The Fabric


This was done as part of the Minerva Brand Ambassodor program with their gifted fabric. I chose this beautiful medium weight linen polyester blend fabric. It has a lovely drape for. both pants and jackets as well as a skirt. It also washed very well and was very easy to work with.

The Pattern hack


I love this shirt pattern. It has a very cute drop sleeve and a gathered center back. It is designed to be a short button down shirt.


Looking through the measurement charts, I chose to cut out a size S for this dress.


I then lengthened the front and back pieces by 19.5 inches to reach a midi length on myself.


No other modifications were made.


I added buttons to allow for a nice large slit in front. 😁



Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make or hack this pattern, you will learn to


1. Sew button plackets


2. Sew a collar and a collar stand


3. Sew a yoke


4. Gather a small part of the pattern piece and sew them together


5. Sew buttons and button holes


6. Change a shirt pattern to a dress


Get Inspired


I love all of Fibremood patterns and tend to search their website for ideas a lot. I highly recommend you try this pattern and this fabric from Minerva. I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you.


WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page