top of page

Fabriclore Collaboration -3 Clyde Work Pants by Elizabeth Susan Studio

In this post I will walk you through how I made the Clyde work pants!! #thehemlineeclectic #esmadebyme #fabriclorecollaboration #clydeworkpants

I fell in love with these pants when I first saw the pockets! These pants have gorgeous panels with a large scooped pockets that go all along the side. These pants also have a very unique elastic waistband construction. I urge you to try this!


Elizabeth Susan had a handmade clothing business which had to close due to COVID-19 and she has now started releasing her patterns for the public to purchase. She has generously giving a sliding scale for her patterns. You can purchase the pattern here.


The pattern can be downloaded from $0-$15 sliding scale. I urge you to pay what you can manage. It is an excellent pattern and I am sure you will be making more than one.


The Fabric


For these pants, I chose a lightweight linen cotton blend from Fabriclore. This blend is lighter than what I am used to working with but the lightness adds to the drape and it works will for these pants.



Check out all their linen and linen blends here.


This fabric is very soft once washed and it will work well for multiple types of garments. It would work for tops and dresses too. I highly recommend you try it out.


The Pattern


Since these pants have an elasticated waist, I went with the hip measurement to choose a size. I chose to cut out a size 6.


The pattern also comes designed for both short and regular lengths which is very useful for short people like me (I am about 5'3"). I chose the short version.


A common pants fit adjustment I made is to shorten the rise. I shortened the front and back rise, and all other corresponding panels by 3/4".


Since this version was designed for people 5'4" and shorter, I initially thought I may not have to shorten the rise but I did anyway and I am glad I made this adjustment. I like the rise length on these.


In retrospect, I would increase the length of the pants at the hem by about 1-1.5inches so it hits just above my ankle. Next time!


Sewing the Pants


The instructions to sewing the pants were very straight forward. If these are your first pair of pants, I urge you to make a toile.


More details of how these pants were made is on the Fabriclore blog. You can read it here.


The elastic waist band is added in a unique way. Usually, most patterns will require you to make a casing and then insert the elastic inside. This pattern shows you another way to attach elastic to the pants!!


The really enjoyed sewing these pants. They are my secret pyjamas!! :)


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make these pants, you will learn to


1. Fit pants to your measurements


2. Sew pants that have multiple panels


3. Sewing these large side pockets


4. Attaching a waistband to the pants



Styling


These pants can be styled in many ways. Depending on the fabric used to make these pants they can have a lovely drape or be a more study pair of pants.


For this post, I have paired the pants with a bodysuit style top (Nathalie bodysuit by Untitiled thoughts - blog post coming soon) and my Dr.Marten's sandals!


Show me how you would style it!


Get Inspired!!


I absolutely love these pants. I will surely make more! I highly recommend you try it. I can see these pants being hacked into a skirt, into shorts or even a jumpsuit with the ashton top!! I leave you here with more photos to inspire you!




WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page