top of page

Fabriclore Collaboration - 2 Hacking the Ashton top into a dress

In this post, I hacked the Ashton top into a tiered dress with pockets #thehemlineeclectic #ashtontop #helenscloset #fabriclorecollaboration

For the second post of this collaborative blog series, I decided to hack the Ashton top from the previous post into a tiered dress with pockets.


Helen has generously given all Fabriclore customers a 20% discount code on the Ashton top pattern. USE CODE fabriclore2021ashton during checkout at the Helen’s Closet website. This code will be valid for both the Ashton top and the sleeve expansion pack. The code is valid until May 31st, 2021.


Most patterns can be hacked into something else or something different if you know how to make these changes. There are several blog and video tutorials to help you achieve these.


I decided to add 2 tiers to the Ashton top to turn it into a midi length dress and I also added pockets! I love having pockets in all my garments! In seam pockets are a great addition and an easy addition if you know how.




All details of how the hack was done along with pictures and illustrations can be found on the Fabriclore Blog. I hope you find it useful.


The Fabric


For this hack I chose to make it in the beautiful loom textured cotton from Fabriclore. This fabric is light and have both structure and drape for this dress. I absolutely loved working with this fabric. The stripes change throughout the fabric giving you interesting lines overall and not typical stripes. I highly recommend this fabric. It is also available in different colours.


Here are the modifications I made to the Ashton top -


1. Shortened the front and back bodice by 2.5"

2. Drafted 2 skirt pattern pieces

3. Added in seam pockets.


The blog post covers all these modification including links to video tutorials. I recommend you check those out too.


Techniques you will learn -


If you choose to sew this hacked dress you will learn to


1. Modify the length of the pattern

2. Draft a gathered skirt pattern

3. Draft a pocket

4. Sew an inseam pocket

5. Gather a skirt

6. Sew the gathered skirt to a bodice.



This hack is sure to up your sewing game and will give you an opportunity to learn new techniques that you will surely use in more projects going forward.


Get Inspired


I loved making this dress. This hack would work in any woven fabric and I highly recommend you try it out. It is a simple yet very effective hack. I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you!




WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page