top of page

Cornell Shirt by Elbe Textiles

In this post, I will talk about how I sewed up this beautiful shirt. #thehemlineeclectic #elbetextiles

Elbe Textiles


I absolutely love the patterns by Lauren from Elbe textiles. Her designs are very unique and very wearable. Her drafting skills are exceptional and the hacks can be endless.


The Cornell Shirt Pattern


This is a very relaxed shirt pattern with 2 views. One with the placket (which I chose to make) and another which is a full button up. This shirt has a drop shoulder and a very relaxed fit. It has a grandfather style wide collar stand which I absolutely love.


Lauren's instructions (as usual) are absolutely phenomenal. This was the first time I sewed both a front and cuff plackets and her instructions made it seem so simple to sew. I love how precise she is in her instructions and also giving you small tips that make a huge difference while sewing this garment. Thank you Lauren.


This is a unisex pattern and I was very excited to make this one for both me and my husband.


I drew my inspiration from Mel from Melt.stitches's cotton double gauze version and chose to make mine in a gauze too.


Sometimes when I decide on making a project I get very set on doing it right away. I went searching for double gauze in local fabric store. They did not have any. But this cotton gauze was on sale and I thought it could be a good toile.



After looking at the size charts and the finished garment measurements, I chose to make a size A. There is so much ease to this garment, I could have sized down further.


I decided to make this without any modifications. The oversized look is pretty awesome.


I also found that working with the gauze, this fabric grows as you sew, so if you use something similar, be sure to stitch both the necklines and the hemlines. Since this was anyway a oversized pattern, I didn't care so much.


Sewing up the Shirt

This shirt was such an involved enjoyable sew. I have sewn other button down shirts with yokes before but this took it to another level for me at the time.


The finishing on this shirt is exceptional. All seams are finished as french seams. The shirt has a fully enclosed yoke, which I had never sewn before. I want to sew all my yokes this way.


Lauren also instructs you to sew the collar stand differently from what other pattern designers have instructed before. I found this method to give me a very neat collar and less fiddly.


The front and cuff plackets, also my first time sewing these features, turned out so beautiful, I felt quite accomplished when I finished this.


With such beautiful details, this fabric, which was intended as toile, is one of my most loved shirts. I will certainly be making more.


My only advice would be to slow down. Pay attention to all the instructions and you will have a fantastic shirt at the end.


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to sew this shirt, you will -


1. Learn to sew an enclosed yoke


2. Learn to sew plackets


3. Learn to sew a collar (not the traditional way)


4. Learn to french seam and in general learn a lot about finishing


Styling


In this picture, I have styled this shirt with my favorite peppermint wide leg pants in a screen printed light weight cotton and my Chelsea boots from Cole Haan.


In my opinion, if you wear it as a shirt, I recommend you wear something that is more fitted at your waist and hips, like a pencil skirt to accentuate this shirt's beauty.


This shirt can be easily hacked into a


1. Shirt dress - with different looks depending on the fabric


2. A cropped shirt


Both of these are in my que! :)



Get Inspired


If you have sewn a few garments and want to learn some amazing shirt techniques, I highly recommend trying this patten out. I guarantee you will be happy! I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you.


WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page