top of page

Caladium Jumpsuit by Caramiyamaui

In this post, I will talk about how I sewed up the Caladium jumpsuit! #thehemlineeclectic #caladiumjumpsuit #caramiyamaui


The Pattern


When I first saw the different versions of the Caladium Jumpsuit, I was sold. It seemed like the most comfortable layer that my wardrobe needed. This jumpsuit has no closures, so the armholes are pretty deep. It is also reversible. You can choose to wear the square neck or the V-neck in front. I love the square neck.


Looking through the size charts, I chose to cut out size 0-2. One size smaller than my size.


One of the usual adjustments I do is to shorten the rise. I shortened both front and back rise by 1".


The Fabric


I am not very much into large floral prints or any large print for that matter. But when I saw this beautiful yellow cotton floral in my mother's stash I was sold. funny enough, she bought this in Hawaii. This print was really asking to become this jumpsuit. Also, Hibiscus and Plumerias always remind me of home!


Sewing Caladium


This is such a fast and satisfying sew. The instructions are pretty minimal and therefore not the best for a beginner sewist. That said. there maybe sewalongs you can follow to help you along the way.


The finishing a great on this jumpsuit. With mock flat=felled seams and beautiful neck finishings, this garment will last me a long time!


I found the legs a tad wider than I liked so I used an 1/2" seam allowance for the in seam and graded to 3/8" at the crotch seam.


I also had to shorten the straps by about 1/2 inch to have the neck where I liked it. In retrospect with these added changes, I need not have shortened the rise. Next time I will omit the rise adjustments.


Techniques you will learn


If you choose to make this jumpsuit, you will learn to


1. Sew a jumpsuit without closures


2. Sew a square facing


3. Sew a v-neck and finish an armhole with bias facing



Styling Caladium


This jumpsuit is meant to be worn over something. I have seen many people wear it over t-shirt or other blouses. Since my print is very busy. I have just worn it over a simple pink tank top and paired it with one of my favorite Dr.Marten's sandals. I think these sandals pair well with everything! :)


You can also wear this as a beach cover. :)


Get Inspired


This will definitely not be my only Caladium. I would love another one in a fabric with more drape . This can also be made in a knit fabric, so I am excited to try that too. I hope you will make one. I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you!




WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page