top of page

Belted Sweater By Digital Pattern Library

In this post, I will walk you throug how I made this simple yet beautiful belted sweater. #thehemlineeclectic #beltersweater #digitalpatternlibrary

The Pattern


I absolutely love this belted sweater pattern. It is a very simple sew and very beginner friendly.


The pattern has a lot of ease and it is meant to very boxy with large ties which can be tied multiple ways.


Looking at the finished garment measurements, I chose to size down 1 sizes and cut out a size A.


I found the the sweater to be longer than I liked so I shortened the front and back patterns pieces by 1.5inches. Since the ties are at the waist, I shortened the shirt below the tie notches.


The sleeve was also pretty long. I shortenend the sleeve by 1 inch.



The Fabric


This sweater was inspired when I first saw the color of this sweatshirt fleece. This beautiful fabric was purchased from PDX sewing studio. Fabric is still available. It is absolutely gorgeous and soft. It is made with Polyester Rayon Spandex and is perfect for this pattern. The fabric is so buttery, you will not want to take this sweater off.


It also sewed very well. My machine did not want to eat it up, like other knit fabrics. Yay! :)


I bought 2 yards of fabric and it was exactly the amount I needed. I might order a bit more if I were to sew a larger size.


Sewing the Belted Sweater



This is a perfect afternoon sew. The instructions are very clear and simple. I did not have any issues with the pattern pieces or the instructions. The sweater came together very well.


Since this is a knit fabric, I left the edges raw on the inside. I do not yet own a serger and since knits do not unravel, I left them as is.


The neckline facing is added to the shirt in an interesting way and fit perfectly


I would definitely make this again. I would like to try this in just a jersey knit and wear it like a top. Watch out for it! :) I have some beautiful rayon jerseys waiting!


Techniques you will learn

If you are a beginner sewist and are new to sewing with knits, I highly recommend trying this pattern out. You will learn to


1. Make and sew ties and topstitch


2. Add pleats to the garment


3. Sew a sleeve cuff


4. Sew a neckline band/facing


Styling


I am wearing this sweater with a tank top inside and high rise black RTW jeans.


This sweater will effortlessly make anything look well put together. The sweater can be tied in many different ways. which will give you different looks. This going to become a cold weather staple!


You can also hack this sweater by extending this pattern into a dress with slits. That dress can be paired we some lovely tights for the colder months.



Get Inspired


I absolutely love this pattern and this fabric for this pattern. I highly recommend making this. The short sew leading to a glorious sweater is unbeatable satisfaction! I leave you with more photos to inspire you.



WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page