top of page

Atlas top by Stitch Witch Patterns

In this post, I will walk you through this beautiful and quick sew. #thehemlineeclectic #stitchwitchpatterns #atlastop

The Pattern


This pattern is a great intermediate beginner friendly pattern. If you have seam a top before with darts, you are good to go!


This pattern features a fully covered front, center darts (which are beautiful) and an enclosed cross back. You can finish sewing up this unique pattern in no time. It is also a great scrap busting pattern.


The pattern has 2 views, a cropped view and a longer view. Both look great. For my body shape, a cropped top is always very flattering and so I chose to make that.


I love styling this with my high waisted jeans (RTW). This top would also look amazing with culottes.


The Fabric



I chose to make this in a 2 different structured linen/cotton blend fabric. One is from kaufmann essex yarn dyed collection from fabric.com and the black is a linen cotton jacquard from blackbird fabrics. I also tried color blocking for the back (only because I wanted to make this top from my scraps!). I would certainly make this again in other fabric.



I like this fabric for this pattern because the structure of this top and fantastic. I was surprised that this top gave me great coverage in the sides. You can deftly wear it without a bra if you are comfortable that way.


You could make this fabric in more drapey fabric, but that would not be my choice. Check out all the different versions of the top before you decide.


The most important fit to get right is the bust measurement for this pattern. So go with that. After looking through the size charts and the finished garment measurements, I decided to cut out a size 12.


Since I am short waisted, I usually have to shorten the bodice. For this top, I decided to shorten at the shoulder seams by 5/8". I did not compensate this shortening a the armcyse. It fit perfectly.


Sewing up the top


The instructions are written for a more intermediate sewist and was very clear to me. If I was a more beginner sewist, I would have preferred more detailed explanations.




I was able to sew this top on one evening with time to spare for putting the kids in bed! So please try it put. I already have a second one cut out! :)


Techniques you will learn


If you decide to make this top, you will learn to


1. Sew and seam match center darts


2. Make fully encased cross back



Styling


In this post, I have styled my atlas top with my high waisted RTW black jeans and my black chelsea style boots from Cole Haan.


Get Inspired


I highly recommend you try this pattern by Madeline from Stitch Witch Patterns. It is very simple yet can stand out. I leave you here with more pictures to inspire you.



WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page