top of page

Peppermint Bardon Dress by Elbe Textiles and Peppermint magazine



Another free sewing pattern from Peppermint Magazine. This dress was designed by the meticulous Lauren from Elbe Textiles. This was not my first Elbe textiles patterns, I had previously made the Cornell Shirt. Similar to her other patterns, this free pattern does not disappoint.


Every time I sew an Elbe textile pattern, I learn a new and an easier way to do things. In this pattern, she explains adding in seam pockets in such a seamless way, I always use her method for any inseam pocket. .



The Bardon Dress - Fabric choices


The Bardon dress with its multiple tiers would look best in lightweight wovens with a good drape. I made mine in a lovely Chambray and in a Rayon Challis. I can also see this in dress made in lightweight linens and lyocell! This pattern would be flattering in both plain or printed fabric!



Fitting the Bardon Dress


For this pattern, if I went with the size chart, My finished garment would be much bigger. I like my bodice slightly fitted, so I chose to cut out a size C instead of a size D.


Once again being 5'3", I need to shorten the height of the pattern pieces to fit my body. The pattern is designed for a person 5'7" in height. So I need to bring it down at least 4" in total. These 4" need to be shortened evenly so that no tier looks shorter than it should look.


Here are my modifications. -


1. Shortened the bodice by 1 "

2. Shortened the first tier by 1"

3. Shortened the second tier by 2"

4. When i tried the dress on, I found that armcyse too big. So I shortened at the shoulder seams by 5/8inch (front and back) and then finished the raw edges with bias facing.


I love how this dress turned out. This was my first tiered dress. I love how you can wear it as in the summer and pair it with a turtle neck and tights for the colder months!!



Techniques to learn

While sewing this pattern, you will learn to


1. Finish neckline and armholes with bias facing

2. Gather fabric and sew

3. Add inseam pockets!

4. How to sew darts


Styling




In this post, I have styled my Chambray bardon dress with a RTW cardigan and my Chelsea boots from Cole Haan and my Rayon with a belt and a Fleuvog heels.


This pattern can be easily hacked into


1. A woven tank top


2. A woven tank with a peplum


3. A shorter dress with just one tier



Get Inspired!!


I loved sewing this dress. I leave you with more photos to inspire you! It is a free pattern!!



WhatsApp Image 2020-12-28 at 3.33.51 PM.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

This is my sewing journey where i chat about my experience, my trials and tribulations while creating a handmade wardrobe! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page